World Heritage List

The World Heritage List

The World Heritage List, created under the World Heritage Convention of 1972 and maintained by UNESCO, honors cultural heritage sites and natural sites of outstanding universal value to humanity. As of 2020 Iraq had six sites inscribed on the World Heritage List:

Ashur (Qal’at Sherqat) (2003)

Babylon (2019)

Erbil Citadel (2014)

Hatra (1985)

Samarra Archaeological City (2007)

The Ahwar of Southern Iraq (2016)


Experts from RASHID International have published overviews of the historical and archaeological importance of each site, including stunning visual imagery. Click on the links in the list or in the menu to learn more about each heritage site.